How many types of TPMS relearns are there and what are they?

There are three basic TPMS sensor relearn methods.

Auto Relearn

Driving the vehicle is required to relearn new sensor IDs, but the vehicle manufacturer may require additional reset steps be taken prior to driving the vehicle. Autel’s TPMS tools display manufacturer-specific Relearn instructions for every TPMS-equipped vehicle. Auto Relearn is frequently used on Chrysler, Fiat, VW, Porsche, Bentley, Benz, BMW, Audi, Land Rover and Jaguar vehicles.

OBD Relearn

An OBD Relearn requires the use of a TPMS tool to write sensor IDs directly to the vehicle’s ECU. This procedure is frequently used on Japanese- and Korean-made vehicles, and Chrysler, Fiat, Land Rover and Jaguar vehicles.

Stationary Relearn

New sensor IDs are relearned to the vehicle without the need to write the IDs to the vehicle’s ECU or without the need to drive it. Stationary Relearn should be done with the vehicle in Park. This procedure is more frequently used on GM, Ford, some Chinese- and Japanese-made vehicles such as Nissan.

To access the Stationary Relearn mode, you need to:

1. Use the Autel TPMS tool’s OBD function to enable the Training or Relearn mode (this function is supported by the TS508 and TS608); and/or

2.Operate the necessary onboard keys as detailed in the Relearn Procedure instructions displayed on your Autel tool.

Next, activate all tire pressure sensors to complete the stationary relearn. Generally, the activation sequence is clockwise, starting from front left wheel and ending with rear left wheel.

Click outside to hide the comparison bar